Daphne Selfe

My Brother Tom took me to the Theatre Royal Drury Lane for the Royal Theatrical Fund Christmas party, the wine was flowing, there was a cooked lunch of turkey baps with all the trimmings and mince pies and cream. There was a lady playing a grand piano and an enormous Christmas tree, we entered the raffle but didn't win, fun to see famous English Actors such as Geoffrey Palmer and Dudley Sutton in the sea of guests. Chairman Philip Talbot gave a very funny speech too, unfortunately President Robert Lindsay was in rehearsals so couldn't be there, his speech was excellent last year.

I was delighted to see Daphne Selfe again, I introduced myself to her last year having seen the  inspiring C4 TV Documentary The Fabulous Fashionistas which meets six women with an average age of 80, who are determined to look fabulous, have fun and redefine old age, a working model at 87 years young, she had made her way to the party on the tube, tomorrow she is modelling for Red or Dead, last year I asked her for tips and she said she thought I should lose weight for my health, I wasn't offended in the slightest, I am a stone lighter than last year and told her so, she was so pleased and put her hands on my waist and congratulated me, she is delightful and graciously posed for a photo with me.

Tom and I went for a coffee afterwards, it's been a lovely afternoon with him.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.