Rocky Mountain Moments

By pipersmom

Belted Kingfisher

The high temperature today was 12 F (-11 C) with clear blue sky and bright sunshine.  I love to bundle up and go outside on days like this and I couldn't wait to get out with my new camera!  I went driving on a rural road to look for eagles and I found this beautiful Kingfisher just waiting for me to take her picture.  I know it's a female because of the rusty flanks and belly band.  The males are all white in that area.  I always feel lucky to get a shot of these elusive birds!  The first extra shows off her "hairdo" better and in the second she is flying. The flight shot isn't great but I like it anyway. :-)  This is my fourth day in a row blipping birds.  Maybe I'll see those eagles tomorrow....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.