Picts

An appointment at 8:50 with my GP today. The annual giving of blood etc to make sure the glucose, cholesterol etc are under control.

One of the drugs I take for blood pressure has been causing a side effect, so the review was timely. An alternative is now prescribed, but not the one Dr D wanted. My GP can only prescribe it in exceptional circumstances - budget limitations.

Time will tell.

The Blip is the Path House Medical Practice. It isn't the one I use, although I have used it once - it's the only one in the town which can give yellow fever vaccinations.

It is a local landmark however, and part of the town's heritage. Research indicates it was deslgned in 1692 and sold in 1703, so it must have been built sometime in between. It is undergoing external renovation at the moment.

I often get asked how the town got its name - unpronounceable to newsreaders and call centre workers down south (never mind India). It is Pictish. Caer meaning "fort" and caled, which means "hard" (and it was a personal name).  

 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.