Posh mince pies

I spent this afternoon at Heriot-Watt University as a judge of the Edinburgh heats of FameLab 2017. This is a science communication competition in which scientists, mathematicians and engineers have three minutes to convey a scientific concept of their choice.

Over the course of two hours I expanded my knowledge of many topics including robotics and artificial intelligence, the lifespan of cancer cells, product packaging, functions of the liver, behavioural contagions, drones, lasers, distilling, blockchain, properties of gold, and fecal transplants.

These mince pies were served in the afternoon break. They looked delicious - even to someone who doesn't like mince pies.

When I came home I prepared a blog post about the afternoon's activities. Do click through to find out more about the competition and the winners.

Exercise today: walked to work (10,142 steps).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.