DERELICT SUNDAY - THIRD SUNDAY IN ADVENT - JOY!

The candle that was lit for the Third Sunday in Advent was for Joy and of course, we had to sing the hymn “Joy to the World, the Lord has come”, which we did with great gusto.

We were given a “Tool Kit”  by Stephen, who was preaching, to help us “be content” - and one of the items in this Tool Kit was to do what we enjoy.

For me that was an easy thing to bring to mind, as I enjoy chatting to people and also taking photographs.  He also encouraged us to find someone when we were having our coffee to tell them how they had blessed us during the service.  

I spoke to a lovely lady who has trouble hearing and whose mobility is limited because she has had a stroke, but the joy on her face when she was singing was so evident and in fact, was infectious.  Standing at the front in the Worship Group and seeing her enjoying worshipping God brought joy to my heart, so I told her that, which made her smile.

After the service we enjoyed having coffee and chatting with several other people and then we went out looking for dereliction, which we found on the farm we often visit on a Sunday - I don’t think this crop sprayer has moved in a very long time - and I guess that is a lesson to all of us - if we don’t move and get out of our little ruts, we will become “choked” by the things that take away our joy and make us negative and lethargic.

So today I am choosing to be JOYFUL - and as reminded by Stephen, will savour the moment, focus on the little things in life and on what I can see, hear, feel, taste and smell.  I will try to be positive and express my gratitude to those around me, do what I enjoy, value relationships more than things, do all things without grumbling and above all, trust in God because He will supply ALL my needs.

Have a great week!

I don’t have a sense of needing anything personally. 
I’ve learned by now to be quite content 
     whatever my circumstances. 
I’m just as happy with little as with much, 
     with much as with little. 
I’ve found the recipe for being happy 
     whether full or hungry, 
          hands full or hands empty. 
Whatever I have, 
     wherever I am, 
          I can make it through anything 
               in the One who makes me who I am.
Philippians 4 : 11-13 
The Message

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.