Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

First holiday photo

of the season, our state house and the state Christmas Tree.    I walked 4 miles with my ladies hiking group in downtown Columbia, our capital city.  The newish greenway trail started at an old railway tunnel, came out at a city park, then meandered through the city to end at a large, old cemetery.   We turned around, circled around the block to see the Governor's house all decorated (I wish I had some extras for that!) and then up the Main Street to the Capital Building.  I am not an urban walking (Nature is my place ) or street photographer but I did get my fix of nature and then learned I like the city at night during the holiday time.  I think I will walk it again when I won't be pressed for time and to stay with a group. The late afternoon start was really great as the sunlight came through the trees and buildings with great light and color.    My walking partner is a photographer also (she learned how to develop her photos in the darkroom, so you can be sure I picked her brain with questions, but not too much!).  We plan to meet again to walk the Riverwalk which is close by, probably on New Year's Day to start the year on a healthy track.    

Always looking for places to go and things to do.  Who knew some were right here close by.   Explore everywhere you live.

 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.