Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

Found in the Christmas box

I have way too many Christmas ornaments for on the tree so I have divided them into boxes, a box of just angels, a box of glass balls some plain, some decorated, a box of wooden ornaments that I got when my boys were young (small hands could not break these) and each year I alternate what I put on the tree with this year being angels.  

 While I was trying to consolidate some things, I came across a bag of tiny houses, painted pine cones,  and tiny people which my Mom used under her tree each year, a Christmas Village on the low rent side of town.  My Dad built a raised platform to put the tree on and she used white flannel for snow, a mirror for a lake and set up her village.  When I was young, there was also a train that went around the bottom of the tree; I don't know what ever happened to that but I think my brother may have played with it until it quit working.    

So I decided to put a portion of this village out as I know my boys will enjoy seeing it.  Wonderful memories for me and for them.

Thanks to evolybab and ceridwen for the mother monday and the monomonday prompts.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.