When Leeks Turn to Art

I've spent a pleasant evening with my hosts. Any meal I don't have to cook is always good, feed me wild venison and it's stellar :-) I am replete.

It's cold outside, not like 12 December at all. We had a quick whip around their garden and then it was time for me to think of work tomorrow and them to think of holiday preparations. I may well return for the odd weekend to dog sit for them. Don't tell Benedict ;-)

I'll sign off on the work on my home on Wednesday. I spoke with the project manager today. The guys are finishing up the touch ups, but the missed job in the kitchen is a bit more than they can do this side of Christmas.

I had a choice, it's a long story and I've chosen a cash settlement for that part and a few other bits the project manager isn't happy about from my first repair. He's yet to argue it with the Earthquake Commission. It may work out nicely with other things I'm thinking about.

I also spoke with the lawyer I saw the first week or my repair today. She's forwarded me her email to the Earthquake Commission. I don't know that I'll have an answer by Christmas and I expect they'll say no to her claim for expenses around my shifting out they foisted back onto me.

After that I have one action I'll take and regardless of outcome, that's it. I where I'm headed and the end is in sight. I hadn't realised what a weight I would start to feel lift off me.

I thought of my positive yesterday but forgot to include it. I'm going to call them gratitudes from now on.

Day 33 gratitude: The wisdom of a good friend.

Day 34 gratitude: The young project manager who does battle for me to see I have a fair and just outcome with my home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.