MonoMonday: "Found" - Zeiss Ikonta

FlyingPRGal (thanks!) has set the theme "Found" for today's MM blip.

I decided to blip this rather lovely vintage camera as MrsC found it in an antique shop 30+ years ago and gave it to me for a surprise Christmas present. It's still in working order - and even has its cable release clipped into its case as you can see. It takes 6x9 cm photos on 120 roll film. Shortly after getting it I ran a film through it, developed it and made contact prints (I had no access to an enlarger at the time) - they were really quite good: they're currently rather inaccessible at the back of our very cluttered boxroom, but one day I hope to unearth them and show some on blip.

The exact model number isn't shown on the camera, but from the web I've identified it as a Zeiss Ikon Ikonta C520/2 with an f6.3 Novar lens of focal length 105mm, and a Telma Shutter with speeds of 1/25 to 1/100 along with B and T. You can see that it has two viewfinders - a reflex one which can be rotated 90 degrees for landscape shots, and a folding 2-frame finder for use up to the eye.

Zeiss's Ikonta models were the top of the range, generally of superior quality to their Nettar range (so MrsC chose well!). They were made between 1929 and 1938. It's sobering to think that when MrsC bought it (I think in 1983) it was probably about 50 years old, and now it's likely to be about 80 years old - so I've had it for over a third of its life! I'm clearly getting old...    :-))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.