Mothers Monday

My Mam - Connie

ceridwen  has suggested a couple of new challenges - Mothers Monday and Fathers Friday.  So I dug out an old photo with my Mam on it.

This photo was taken at Poole Sanitorium in Nunthorpe near Middlesbrough - my Mam is on the far right.  She was at the sanitorium as she had contracted TB. She was in her late teens or early twenties - going out with my Dad but not yet married. They married in 1947.

It must have been quite a trek for relatives to visit her there as they all lived in the Gateshead area - about 45 miles away and no cars in the family. I have put a photo on Flickr of my Mam and Grandma  so I know my Grandma managed to visit once in a while.

The main house at the sanitoroum was Grey Towers House built in 1865 for the Mayor of Middlesbrough. In 1931 Alderman Sir Thomas Gibson Poole bought the estate and presented it to Middlesbrough Council as a tuberculosis sanitoroum known first as Poole Sanatorium and later as Poole Hospital. It was opened as a hospital in 1932. It was used as a TB hospital until 1948 and afterwards as a normal hospital. It closed in 1988 when it also became a Grade II listed building.

My Mam was obviously cured of TB but unfortunately she did suffer poor health all her life.  I can't count the number of days I had to stay off school to look after her especially after my baby brother was born in 1964 when I was 13.  My Mam suffered Post Natal Depression and didn't leave the house for around 5 years after my brother was born.  On the days I did go to school I had to go out as soon as I got home - taking my baby brother with me - to do the daily shop. It was a relief when she finally was able to go out and enjoy life again. She did have more periods of ill health but in between she enjoyed a happy family life. She died at the young age of 56 due to a stroke. 

Usual Monday today - apart from Neil coming round this morning and staying all day.  His back was really bad so he took to his bed to rest it.  He " tweaked " it playing rugby on Saturday.  It was better today than it was yesterday so hopefully it will carry on getting better.  I gave him some Ibuprofen for the pain. And I cooked him steak, chips and onion rings for his tea.  He went home around 7pm. 

I went to slimming club this evening.  Gained half a pound this week so I am still within my target range.  Not many stayed to the meeting after weigh in tonight - Christmas shopping may have been more important.

Steps today - 10,938

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.