Waterfoot Sunrise

By alasdairb

After The Shower

Yesterday's theme of showers continues, dictated largely by the changeable weather of the last few days.

The forecast was for heavy showers later in the day so I decided to "make hay" in the morning sun and get the grass cut! There was a totally different feel to the day with a cooler dampness in the air and a little Robin following me about as if it was Autumn. By mid afternoon I was cutting the last area of grass when the heavens opened and I had to dash for shelter in the garage. The rain continued for a good half an hour, during which time I busied myself chopping up old bits of wood for kindling. We have only lit a fire a couple of times since the middle of May, but might as well make preparations for the coming Winter.

No sooner had the rain stopped when the sun was out shining brightly over the bay and the receding water in the river estuary. Time to finish cutting the grass and get everything cleared up before dinner. I had just got into the house and taken my boots off, when I noticed a beautiful rainbow over the sea. This was all the excuse I needed to grab the camera and make my way down to the river. For the next 40 minutes I was lost in my own little blip world taking umpteen shots of the rainbow and the reflections from the blue sky and wonderful clouds. While doing so I was conscious of how much cooler the air was and how much heavier the salty sea smells seemed. The sounds of the Sandpiper, which had filled the air the last time I wandered with camera in this area, were replaced by the occasional chirps from a couple of Robins chasing after each other. Everything around me suggested Autumn is approaching.

Found in difficult to choose a blip and eventually asked Mrs B to pick one. This is her favourite looking back up the river at Waterfoot with the hills of Arran in the background. I like the reflections in it and the low sun shining on the grassy banks of the river in the distance.

Blip has certainly opened my eyes to the intermittent beauty of a showery day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.