Waterfoot Sunrise

By alasdairb

Melting Moment

It was down to Campbeltown this morning for the weekly shopping, which was particularly big as we have friends coming tomorrow with their children for 4 days.

As those who follow my blips will know, I like to escape the shopping when possible and head off in search of a blip. I did manage 5 minutes at the harbour while Mrs B returned to Tesco for ice cream, but didn't get anything very exciting. However, as we left Campbeltown on the road home I noticed that Davaar Island, which guards the entrance to Campbelown Loch, was crowned with lots of lovely purple heather. Mrs B agreed I could have 5 minutes for a blip, but no more or the ice cream would be melted before we got home! I quickly turned into a side road and I walked to the crest of a rolling hill, where I knew there would be a good view of the Island.

I was pleased to see a fishing boat entering the loch as I knew it would provide some sense of scale for the blip, as well as adding a bit of interest. As the tide was about half way in the shingle causeway, which links the island to the mainland at low tide, was almost submerged in parts. I like this view of Davaar as you can see the lighthouse as well as the southern tip of Arran and Ailsa Craig on the horizon.

Blip in the bag and home before the ice cream melted. Mission accomplished!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.