Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

..Single male, loves basil, seeks mate

Oh, what a dilemma I had today! The hummers were incredibly cooperative and I got so many shots I liked. At the end of the day, I picked this one because I loved the way he was grabbing onto the basil blossom while nectaring from another blossom. Funny, I've been pinching back the blossoms on my Thai and purple basil up until last week (when I surrendered) - turns out that the hummers seem to love the blossoms! Had I known, I would have let them go to flower much sooner. Something to tuck away for next summer.

I made a little slide show on Flickr with about 20 of my best shots of the day, so clicK HERE if you'd like to have a look.

And, I also took a 20 second video of Mimsy at Cocktail Hour in which Mim demonstrates her talent for stuffing as much as possible into her cheeks. It's good for a giggle (or maybe even a guffaw...)

Thanks for the comments and stars on yesterday's hot mess of a blue jay. I will be happy when the jays are their beautiful selves again. In the meantime, however, they do provide some comic relief!

And, officially, I am worried about Vokdaman. Has anyone heard from him?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.