stuff & nonsense

By sleepyhead

Linlithgow Palace

The final day from our Edinburgh base saw us head first east to Rosslyn Chapel then west to Linlithgow Palace. The weather wasn't great, but it stayed dry.

I'd been to Roslin before, but never went to the Chapel. It has to be said that it is stunning. Almost entirely carved in stone, the chapel's history is just as interesting. I loved the story of the stone mason who wanted to make such a good job of the columns that he went abroad for inspiration. Meanwhile his apprentice had a vision in a dream and proceeded to create the most gorgeous carved column. When the master stonemason returned and created his own vision he realised that it would never be able to complete with the intricate beauty of his apprentice and in a fit of anger, brained the youngster to death.

I'd visited Linlithgow Palace before but for some reason this time my shots just didn't seem to be working out the way I wanted and so I decided upon this detail of the courtyard fountain. Christine's shot of the Palace was way better than anything I produced.

Returning home, I was treated to a cooking master class from both Christine and A, who both prepared some dishes for our impending trip. Chicken wings and racks of ribs were given their first stage cooking prep and Tapa marinated for breakfast. Notes were taken and will be attempted at a future date. I even have some Pacham Chicken in the freezer. Mmmmm...

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.