Christmas Boots

I have a small but growing collection of gluhwein boots from various Christmas markets. Today when I got back from San Francisco and went to pick up Dolly, her dogsitter presented me with another one from her recent trip to Germany. She got one for me at the Essen market, but it's not specifically marked which is unusual. But I was thrilled! Of course I HAD to stop at Lidl on the way home and pick up a couple of bottles of their Gluhwein! Oh, and whilst there it would have been silly NOT to pick up some of their other delicious Christmas treats - Stollen, Lebkuchen, Christmas cake, Christmas puddings etc etc.

The first boots I got were the yellow ones on either end. In December of 2003 my mum, sister and I did a trip to Berlin - my birthplace - to celebrate one of my 'Big' birthdays. It was a precious trip, full of wonderful memories, especially since we didn't know that my mum was ill and it would be her last Christmas with us. I inherited her gluhwein boot which is why I have two. The others are from Chicago and another German city (and not actually a boot!)

I'm not sure why the Christmas markets in the UK don't have these boots! Why all those nasty paper cups for the mulled wine? Aren't we all supposed to be eco-friendly these days?

Dolly and I had early Christmas celebrations this evening! I am DONE with work for 2016!! Some vacation time and well positioned days off have helped me to get a long stretch off! I love my job, but I LOVE long stretches of time at home!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.