Santa Rosa Creek

It was raining so hard this morning that even Ozzie wouldn't go out the door. He had the right idea. Unfortunately, OilMan woke up with such a stiff neck that he started swearing every time he moved. A trip to the doctor seemed a good idea and it did reassure him that he wasn't going to die. He's not good with pain. 

When the flash flood warnings for Sonoma County started appearing on my phone, The attention getting alarm is almost more frightening than the rising flood waters. I decided to brave the deluge to check out the creek across the street. 

We are in no danger at the top of our hill and even the people across the road who live right on the creek have never been flooded, but I could hear the raging torrent the moment I opened the front door. It was wider than I have ever seen it, but what really impressed me as I stood by the railing over the bridge was the turbulence as great gouts of muddy water arose when the torrent hit submerged rocks and great branches hurtled underneath me.

My neighbor saw me trudging past her house and invited me in for a most welcome cup of tea and a chat that didn't involve swear words....

Ozzie hasn't moved from his bed save for a couple of very brief forays for "nature breaks"..... 

The extra picture was taken in drier times from the same spot as today's shot.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.