Flower Friday : : Battered, Not Beaten

That title sounds like a recipe for a cocktail or fried chicken, but it is actually a tribute to this flower which Dana planted by our front steps a couple of months ago. It is almost as if it has been petrified. It has neither grown nor died. It has been snacked on by a few bugs, but it hasn't faded. Yesterday it was hit by the torrential rains which closed roads, flooded creeks and filled basements, yet today, like the sky itself,, it showed a sunny face.

I spent much of the day making cookies. NanaK, your cookie recipe is the best, but it does  make A LOT of cookies! I gave some to my neighbor, who had surgery yesterday for an infection in his knee , and he sent the following  delightful thank you,  Everyone except Jewish mothers make these cookies but not everyone makes them well. You do an absolutely superb job; these are totally delicious. Neither too thick nor too thin, and with just the right amount of perfect frosting. Masterpieces -- those that survived! 

I must share the credit with NanaK . It's a good thing the recipe makes a lot. I don't think they will go to waste, although OilMan is sounding a little worried that he might not get his fair share.

While I made cookies and other goodies, I listened to President Obama's last press conference. I will miss this smart, thoughtful, well spoken man and his energetic, striking wife. I thought he seemed a bit wistful and reluctant to leave the podium, but I think she will be thrilled to say goodbye to the White House. She played her role as First Lady to perfection, but she's too smart to do it forever. That lady is going places...I'm sure of it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.