Construction Site

It should have taken an hour. I do it every year, and each year it seems to take longer to make two gingerbread houses. This year I decided it was time to modernize a bit, hence the ruler, scissors, paper, pencil and tape.

The predicted wind gusts promised in red flag (fire) warnings arrived as we were waking up this morning. Ozzie seemed to be energized by being blown almost off his feet and tore around the field chasing sticks like a young dog. OilMan and I however were a little traumatized by the same kind of winds which precipitated the fires here, and the fact that it it was freezing so we cut our walk short and scurried back to our warm house.

Just as I popped the first batch of redesigned walls into the oven, the power went out. Uh oh. So did the heat. OilMan seemed to think there was no reason to come inside, since there was nothing he cold do anyway, so I started texting the neighbors. My relief was considerable when the power came back on before the gingerbread houses were spoiled. I only had to redo two walls that got a bit singed. Despite the power outage, the oven stayed surprisingly warm....

The chaos in the kitchen is the only photo I took today during all this. I have more flour on my person than there is on the rest of the kitchen surfaces. OilMan ate the extra walls....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.