creative lenna

By creativelenna

Pathless Woods - an instalation

I went to the Ringling Museum on Sunday after Nia class. What a treat! I have a membership & like going there to walk the grounds, visit the rose garden, look at the art in the galleries . . . and, there was a special exhibit I was aiming for that day called the Pathless Woods (a forest of ribbons to walk through).
Notes from the Ringling website where you will also find a video of the experience of walking through the Pathless Woods:
"In November 2016, the new Gallery of Contemporary Art opened with the site-specific installation by American artist Anne Patterson.  Pathless Woods is an interactive, multi-media installation in which the visitor is invited to walk through a forest of ribbons - sometimes the path is very clear and at other times it is not. The title is taken from a line of Byron’s poetry, “There is a pleasure in the pathless woods” and references that the visitor can find his or her own path through the installation with each choice determining outcome."

When I first entered the room where this installation was set up, I was the only one there! That was a little strange at first. There was music playing and a subtle light show glowing through the ribbons that changed. I entered the ribbons by pushing them aside with my hands and thought about "sometimes the path is easy to see and other times it is not." It was true. As I got comfortable moving through the ribbons I put my hands out and felt them falling over me. I remembered that I thought photography was allowed and so I took a couple of photos. Then other people came in, in pairs. Soon one couple was softly giggling. I continued to move, going in various directions, watching the lights, listening to the music and watching other people move through the forest of ribbons. I opened the door and went back to the lobby to read the sign about the exhibit, noted that photography was definitely allowed and went back into the room to take a few more pictures. I really enjoyed this unusual art experience. 

I took a photo of the sign explaining the exhibit and I will add it to the "extra photos". Please read!!
 
That day at the museum I also took a "private places" tour of the Ca' d'Zan mansion, seeing parts of it I had never seen before. this was the home of John & Mabel Ringling. In June, I was at the Ringling Museum with rower2012  who took this photo of me under my Great Uncle's painting that hangs in the museum. We went on the basic tour of the house (mansion) that day together, which is quite informative & I really enjoyed. But rower, if you return we must consider the private places tour! I got to go all the way up to the tower balcony with a fabulous view of Sarasota bay, see an enormous Game Room with a wonderful painted ceiling and much more! 

Wishing all of you well. I will attempt to add more blips tomorrow! Thank you for your many visits, stars, hearts & comments. ALL appreciated! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.