FLOWER FRIDAY

When we met our old and new friends on the 8th December, Paul (the older one!) chatted with Mr. HCB, as their friendship goes back about 50 years.  While they chatted (and they say men don’t talk!) I chatted with Lorraine (the younger, new friend!). I didn’t know her as she and Paul had only been married for two years and we hadn’t met Paul for a few years but we got on like a house on fire, in fact, it seemed as if we had known each other forever. 

I knew that Lorraine was a “crafter” and that she had had a craft evening that I was unable to go to a few days before, so I asked her to bring some of her “goodies” so that I could have a look.  I also knew that all the money she raises from selling her beautiful work goes to an organisation called Angel’s Orphanage in Nepal.  If you want to know about the work there, you can see more here.

She had lots of different things, most of which were commissions, so I couldn’t buy them, but I rather liked two little Carol Singers, so as well as some other tree ornaments, I bought them - I like them very much, but they may be given away as gifts - so perhaps I should ask if she has any more and then I could give them away but also have two for myself.

In this day and age when we have so much, it is good to remember those who have very little or nothing at all, through no fault of their own - and giving even a small amount helps tremendously, which is the main reason Mr. HCB and I have chosen to send very few Christmas cards this year, but have made donations to several smaller charities that often get forgotten.  

So to all my Blip friends and any others who read this, I wish you a Happy Christmas with your family and friends and as you give and receive may you be truly blessed.

The one who blesses others 
     is abundantly blessed;
          those who help others 
               are helped.
Proverbs 11:25
The Message

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.