ABSTRACT THURSDAY - DOTS

I’m sure I’m not the only one who likes to “pop” bubble wrap!  Apparently, Popping the Bubbles is a game now for children’s parties and the one who pops the most is the winner.  Just wish that had been around in my younger days – although with a birthday in a couple of weeks, I guess there’s no reason why I can’t buy some and make it a game for my party!

Today’s Abstract Thursday challenge was “Dots” so finding a small piece of bubble wrap on the table, I put it on top of a cushion and here is the result – after a bit of faffing around.

Of course, the most wonderful use of dots is in Braille - Louis Braille lost his sight at a young age. When he was 10 years old, he was sent to the Royal Institution for Blind Youth, and it was at the Institute in 1821 that Louis was first introduced to the idea of using a coded system of raised dots and developed his own version of the code, using just six dots to represent the standard alphabet.

I remember from many years ago that a friend had some Braille hymnbooks so that she could read and sing the hymns at church – the stack of books was about four feet high – and I was always intrigued by how she could possibly make anything of all those dots, but it meant that she could be part of what was going on and join in, which was wonderful.

I used to tell my two sons when they were younger “Hindsight is a wonderful thing, but you can’t live your life by hindsight” and I guess this is what Steve Jobs meant:

"You can’t connect the dots
     looking forward;
you can only connect them
     looking backwards."
Steve Jobs

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.