Positive

I’m glad this week is finished. I’m not looking forward to next week, but there’s the weekend first.

I went out for lunch in West Wemyss, and a short walk along the beach afterwards was ideal. The weather wasn’t. Grey and a bit wet, but... not cold. Trying to be positive...

The Blip is Wemyss Castle which is just east of the village and right on the shore. It was built in 1421 and is the ancient seat of the Earls of Wemyss and their families. It is where Mary, Queen of Scots met her future husband Lord Darnley in 1565.

The home of our local aristocracy, bless them. I had a quick look at the family history (as available online). It confirmed that the French had the right idea.

I was particularly impressed by the last Earl's robust campaigning to have buildings of historic significance (like his castle) exempt from death duties. 

The extra shows the greyness of the weather afflicting us at the moment. But... it's not cold.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.