New young old friends

Knowing some friends and relations would be popping by in the late afternoon and there wouldn't be time to do the evening walk, the dogs and I took off just after lunch for an early one. Think they were somewhat bemused by not having their post lunch nap.

On the way, I managed to get to the post office and send off some cards. I gather Christmas is early this year, falling on 25th December. Must be linked to the super moons. In digging out the addresses, I had to find one using my e-mail contact info and thereby discovered I had made a massive blunder. In early September I had "cleaned up" (deleted) loads of emails (worried about Russian hackers finding my links to Hillary) and thereby deleted a pending very important email reply from me to a dear friend. I thought it had been sent. Today I discovered it wasn't and has disappeared! Kicking myself as I had caused all sorts of anguish, particularly from 3rd parties to get some news from this person. So embarrassing and annoying.

However the dogs and I had a great walk in the sunshine and returned just as it was getting dark. Had missed two visitors which was fine by me and was delighted to see those that had also just arrived. Hannah, daughter Maria and granddaughter Julia as well as Angie's niece Steffi. They live in our former village and Steffi nearby. Back in 1995 when we moved to that village, Maria and Steffi who were to become great friends, were almost daily visitors - I think something to do with the fact we had horses. And so the friendship with Maria's parents (hubby Alois stayed at home today as no room in the car for him).

And today I got to see the latest addition to the family, granddaughter Julia born on 26 September. And a very friendly, usually smiling, alert girl who likes her bottle.

This was a post-factual birthday celebration for Angie, so cake and coffee followed by a warm snack. It was lovely to see them again.

As a reminder of old times, Maria and Steffi posed with Flash. Some photos of them back in 2003 when Flash had just arrived here. No group photo back then so need to go through the 5 days from this link.
There was an additional reason which I don't need to recall here

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.