Valley of Fire

While husband and #4 son went to a college basketball tournament, I headed north of Las Vegas to the Valley of Fire State Park, about 50 miles away.  I saw right away this won’t be the only time I go here.  I arrived around 1:00 pm so there was plenty of bright light, but since the sun sets at 4:30 here, it started to improve around 3:00.  

I always feel out of my element when shooting landscapes, I guess that’s just because I don’t get to do it on a regular basis.  Ideally I should have had a tripod, but all in all, I was happy with this shot which shows some of the many different and beautiful rock formations that can be seen from the long and winding road through the park.  It looks better in  LARGE.   There are lots of hiking trails and slot canyons to visit, but since I was alone, I thought it best not to venture too far from the various parking areas. 

I am trying to get caught up with my blipping.  The Tiny Tuesday results were finally posted and can be found HERE, just in case you missed it. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.