Celebrating Commercialmas

The darkness is nearly full, and in every tradition there is a primitive need to seek light and celebrate life. Be that Christmas, Yule, Saturnalia, or anything else, we humans do love a bit of a knees up. This is one of the villagers, perhaps telling the world that darkness does not win, and that the Sun will come again...

I had a bit of a mayhem moment today on my camera settings, and for some reason I needed to rest all my settings to default before i could take a half decent picture. I admit, a certain quantity of beer, wine, armagnac and whisky may have made their cumulative effects known too, but still...

Anyway, lovely to join Greg and Cath for lunch, with Noel and Mary and Charlie and Rory, and Janet made the most splendid selection of fantastic pies, tarts and buns - again. And drove too. You've got to love that!

I may be a little bah and indeed humbug about the whole midwinter process, but it's good to have a reason to celebrate in these times. May the Sun come again, Sol Invictus!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.