How it should be done!

When my granny died I was lucky enough to be given all her recipe books.  In amongst books are the cuttings and pages from magazines and papers, including this, from 1934.  As you can see, it has been well used over the years!   The colouring in would have been done by my mother or my auntie Molly, born in 1933 and 1936 respectively.  

Before she was married, Granny worked in Well Close House in Rothbury, first as a kitchen maid and then as a cook.  Her hand written recipe books are full of fascinating old recipes like Mock Turtle Soup and Abbot's Delight, Bignet Souffle and Yankee Custard Pie.  I blipped them many years ago, time for another outing perhaps.  

Just have a close look at the amount of alcohol in the mincemeat! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.