Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Anticipation

I’m having trouble with Christmas this year – blipping it, that is.  I keep trying, then veering off in a different direction.  Which is silly really, as most of the fun of it now seems to be in anticipation.  By Boxing Day, or 1st Jan at latest,  we’re sick of it and tearing down the decs. 
 
When I was a kid (and I do realise that was a long time ago) my dad always did the tree, beautifully, but we never ever put it up before 24th.  Later, we tried to do the same with our kids, but my son thought that was pretty shabby.  All his friends had their trees complete early in December so we were horribly uncool if we didn’t do the same.
 
Hence these tulips anticipating spring, which together with daffs are all over town now.  Well, at least they’re Christmas colours.  Mind you, some plants really do think it’s spring already it’s been so mild down south.  I saw some hazel buds breaking today and last Friday I spied my first snowdrops in someone’s garden.
 
Have a peaceful Monday evening  xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.