Selfies from the Brink

By Markus_Hediger

Pink Bycicle

Thank you all for your kind comments on yesterday's blip. They softened my heart. And maybe this explains what happened later that day.
I took this picture when I had to park my car in the back of the supermarket yesterday evening because the parking lot in front of the store was packed.
After taking the picture I went inside to get some groceries. At the chech-out, an old lady approached me. 
She didn't ask for food or money, She just said: "I'm hungry." 
I asked her what she needed and she said: "I have nothing. No rice, no beans." 
I asked the lady at the check-out if she'd wait a minute and went back into the store to get two kilos of each. I then gave it to the old woman, and a tear rolled down her cheek. It broke my heart. 
While driving home I fought back my own tears, but as soon as I got home and my wife asked me what had happened, I couldn't hold them back anymore. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.