Ticket to freedom

I'll start with the jist of a phone conversation today.

"So your emergency roof repair isn't fixed yet?"

"The roofers have been and they think they've fixed the roof leak, but my ceiling and wall are damp where water has dripped through".

"Oh, water inside? But the job said your roof was leaking?"

"Yes! and the water dripped through the cracked ceiling and run down the inside of the wall where it has dripped through too".

"Oh. So the roof leaked and the water came inside your house?"

"Yes! Look, for nearly 2 weeks I've had water trapped behind painted wall paper where my ceiling meets the wall. Please, can you send someone with a meter to measure water dampness in gib board and the authority to get it either dried out or replaced".

"Oh.... ummm...hmmm, water damage from a leak?".

And so it went on. I'm not holding my breath.

But moving on from tiresome earthquake bureaucracy we've paid for via our insurance....

Today I got my annual Backcountry Hut Pass. My ticket to freedom, to places that refresh and replenish me. Views that leave me speechless gained by hard earned sweat and effort. Shared with companions to laugh with, fix the ills of the world and swap snacks and ideas with.

Transport me to my happy place (and yes, I am away Saturday and Sunday and my hut pass will be coming with me :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.