Into bloom

The daffodils in North Hagley Park are coming into bloom. Oddly the ones across the road in South Hagley Park are a couple of weeks ahead (and I can't see any obvious difference in sun). They truly are a wonderful sight.

Even more spring large

I had blipped the best excuse yet, a business card left in the window of a colleague's car with the scribbled note on it "left sticker in wife's car". Instead I get to tell you the story and you get daffodils instead :-)

I'm really tired and it's only 8.15pm. I've hardly stopped for a couple of days so I'm not surprised. This afternoon I tried to slot in 3 tradesmen to quote the damage to asphalt driveway and concrete path. I got 1 out of 3 arrive to look so I guess I'm underway. Hopefully the others will turn up Monday and Tuesday.

My insurance company gave me the breakdown of the amount they want to settle for outside repairs (separate to my house claim). Interestingly (but not surprisingly) their measurements differ markedly from the actual size of the driveway and path. Something to watch if you're looking to settle a similar claim. All that really matters is that the amount I settle on covers what needs repairing minus premiums for 2 events.

But that's quite enough insurance and quake damage for one day. I need a shower, bed and long restorative sleep.

Sunday's weather looks like it might behave just enough for a trip to the mountains :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.