Leithfield Beach

Nothing could have pleased me more than an empty beach late Christmas afternoon. Mind you the easterly was blowing in and it wasn't at its most pleasant.

After presents with Benedict (he got me the Rolling Stones new album - such a thoughtful cat ;-) and breakfast, I quickly completed my list, piled stuff into my car and headed off to church.

Then I headed north for about 40 minutes to the small settlement of Leithfield where I spent Christmas day with a friend and their family. After a game involving throwing lumps of wood under hand at other lumps of wood, and bowls on the lawn, I hit the sack for a goodish chunk of the afternoon.

Feeling rather groggy my mate and I biked off down the Kowai River to Leithfield Beach. I had a borrowed mountain bike with a seat that soon woke me up! Once at the beach we took a track along the back of the beach until we reached the other part of Leithfield that is right at Leithfield Beach.

We met up with everyone else at another family members place and had a bbq and craft beer tasting. A new bbq (not the one that was cooked on) was assembled with the usual hilarity these things cause with the inevitable part bearing no resemblance to the instructions diagram, is left over.

Then my mate and I took the road route back to house at the other part of Leithfield. We walked the dog and about then I fancied another sleep, and since it was getting dark that was about right.

I think Christmas will always be a mix of sorrow and joy for me. Today I was blessed to be welcomed and part of a laid back and cruisey sort of Christmas.

Peace.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.