West Norwood blips

By KandCamera

Angkor Wat

Today we visited Angkor Wat, the Bayon and Ta Prohm. The scale of Angkor Wat and the work involved to transport all the stone to the site to build it, and carve all the intricate designs is just staggering. I visited in 1998 and was stunned by it. I’d never been anywhere like it. It’s still very impressive but I’m happy I got to see it back then when there weren’t loads of other people! It’ll be interesting to compare my photos when I go home as I remember looking down the long corridors which were empty and just sitting in one corner soaking up the atmosphere and the quiet. It’s not like that now. Today there was a queue of about an hour to go up into the central tower. We didn’t go. I’ve chosen a blip of Angkor Wat but not the main postcard shot.

Ta Prohm, the temple that has been left almost as it was found, with jungle growing all over it, is still magical. It really shows the power of nature over humans and how, if we all die out, nature will just reclaim our cities.


The extras are: a more traditional shot of Angkor Wat, one of the Bayon’s smiling faces, two of the trees in Ta Prohm (the second one featured in Tomb-raider and lots of people were queuing to take selfies in front of it).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.