Worsbrough Walk

... which was exceedingly windy.

I got this far with adding my entry yesterday and then needed to stop to eat. So I'm back this morning to add a bit more.

The wind was really whipping up the waves as we approached the dam and even more alarming as we crossed it.  The vibrating bridge struts rang out and the cold wind desperately tried to push us over.  (I'm not too sure how the children were coping.)  It was quite a relief to get to the other side.  The water fowl always amuse me in these conditions as they line themselves up nose to the wind, I guess it would be so easy for them to capsize.  We met Geoff (from the camera club) and his wife walking towards us who had also decided to get some  `air into their lungs'.

I've made this a double photo, because I'm running out of extras, as on the creaking willow trunks we spotted this bracket fungus that looked a bit like a soft purse, in fact there were several off them each occupying a different branch.  We also spotted some smaller orange fungi low down on a willow branch as we neared the far side of the lake.  It must be the season for Willow Fungi!  I've given up trying to identify them for now, it all seems much too complicated.

I've become intrigued with some old family photos this Christmas.  Those of you on FB might have spotted them.  Unfortunately, in a past life I mixed up two sets so I'm now trying to sort them out into family groups, I guess if I don't try then no one else will be able to.  There are still so many where the sitter, family group are unknown, especially those taken around the time of WW1.  It has struck me that these photos are the Instagram of their time, when young people went along to the photographers studio for a portrait sitting and then shared the resulting photos out among family and friends.  There are so many of these portraits, some of them really fine, that will never be identified.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.