Party's Not Over Yet

OilMan and I took ourselves off to the Flying Goat this morning for an Aztek Mocha, only to find out that for unknown reasons their power was out and the entire staff was standing around unable to make so much as a cup of coffee. We turned around and went back the way we came to Acre which was packed. It is still very cold with freezing temperatures at night but the six tables in front are in a sun trap and it is almost always warm enough to sit outside.

I could do a series of pictures of coffeeshop clientele. Today I chose the pink haired lady who was either still wearing her party clothes or going to a rather early Boxing Day affair. I am putting the picture of the little boy sitting on the table while his mother fed him with a spoon and his grandmother hung on to the back of his shirt to make sure he didn't topple over onto the lady sitting next to them. 

Aside from trying to finish the sweater I am knitting for Dana, which was supposed to be finished in time for Christmas, I spent time with Jim who is taking the helm of the sinking ship which is my computer and feels that the answer is the cloud. Now how's that for mixing metaphors? I loved the way he kept pointing to the sky as he labored to get rid of all the corrupted files, liberate the necessary upgrades and send my thousands of photo files to the cloud, which we all know is nothing but a giant, drafty, room filled with banks of computers and is probably the elephant in the drawing room regarding excessive use of power....more mixed metaphors...elephants and clouds...hummm...

I have faith that in the fulness of time everything will be resolved in Jim's capable hands. In the meantime, everything is making its way ever so slowly to the fabled cloud and my comments and even posts may be somewhat sporadic. 

Tomorrow Dana and I are going to make a stealth visit to Berkeley just to say goodbye to my friends at the wonderful clothing boutique called the Red Bird which is closing at the end of the year. They were once what I would sometimes refer to as "my living room" because I enjoyed their company as much as I did their clothes. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.