Good Bye RedBird

I used to think that when it came to shopping for clothes, it would be wonderful to find a store where they knew what you liked and kept track of what you bought. It finally came to our Berkeley neighborhood in the form of a boutique called The RedBird.

Over the years I became friends with the owner, Karen who told me she always wanted her own business and succeeded in creating a small space that was beautifully decorated and stocked with interesting clothes. Much of it was beyond my means, but I tended to buy it anyway....and I loved standing around talking to Karen.

Eventually Karen's daughter Kim joined her and we bonded over Alabama Chanin sewing projects. We even went to a workshop together at Alice Waters' Edible Schoolyard with delicious food prepared by middle school kids.

You get the idea that RedBird was a lot more than a clothing store. I always made sure I went there every time I went to Berkeley.

Today Dana and I went down to Berkeley to say good bye to Karen and Kim and the Red Bird. After 15 years of being my living room/ closet/best friends/advisors, Karen is closing the RedBird on Saturday. I bought the necklace because I liked it but also to remind me of people and a place that were once very special to me.

Best of luck Kim and Karen...I will miss you!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.