THE SHEPHERD WITH SHEEP AND DONKEY

It was the first Christmas since Piet Hein and I dated,  it was 1966.  And Piet Hein gave me a first present. He had bought for me in the Bijenkorf a tiny Nativity scene, that one could pin upon the wall. It contained Mary, Joseph and the baby Jesus in one piece, but also the shepherd with his sheep and donkey and also some leaves. The Nativity scene I did not find this year, but the other items I pinned on a golden cloth on the wall.
It is strange but during the year I always come upon the Nativity scene itself, but where I put it then, I somehow never remember, It could be even in The Hague.
All day grey clouds are filling the sky and none of us has uttered a wish for a walk. We hope for better weather tomorrow, as it is Mischa's last day here.
In the morning Mischa and I translated a short story into dutch, having again a lot of fun.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.