CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

The wary blue tit

The clear sky last night allowed a crisp frost to settle over the landscape. I was feeling a bit better, which meant I could go out early in the morning to feed the birds which I had neglected to do yesterday. 

The birds have been very reliant on the food we provide this year and empty the feeders at a rate of knots. Once I'd refilled them, I stood outside the cabin with my camera and in my dressing gown, waiting to see which bird would appear first. A robin duly fulfilled that role, but since they rarely eat from the feeders I had to wait for this blue tit to summon up courage and risk feeding while this big human was lurking. 

The light was gorgeous at that time of day and coming from the east of course which provides a different image compared to most of my bird pictures. Once I went inside I watched from the window sipping my coffee and saw the regulars racing to gather sustenance to ward off the cold. More tits, bullfinches, black caps, robins, goldfinches, blackbirds and so on.  the pigeons and crows and magpies aren't able to access the feeders so I do feel sorry for them and I did later scatter some more food on the ground for them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.