And then...

I don't really believe you can, with any real degree of accuracy, predict what kind of adult a child will turn out to be. But I do believe that when your children have grown up, you can look back and make a link to some of their characteristics when they were small.

Izzy, for example, could be very intense but also had a great sense of humour. That manifested itself in the jokes she made most obviously, but also in her ability to quote any film, in the appropriate accent, at *just* the right moment, and also her uninhibited laughter. Yesterday, she told me a story about her friend's first journey on the tube, which took about five minutes because Izzy couldn't stop laughing.

So today, when I went to take a picture of my older daughters before they dispersed around the country and wanted to ensure it wasn't too posed, I asked Izzy to tell them the story. Seriously, I don't think any of us found it half as funny as Izzy but we were all laughing because of how funny she found it. 

This isn't the best photo I got - it's not quite in focus for a start - but I love how Izzy is doubled up with laughter at her own story. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.