Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Between the Earth and the Sky

Before anything else my heartfelt thanks for everyone's response to yesterday's 1825 blip.  I feel honoured to receive so many comments and rewards.  

Today is a little different and a bit of an experiment.  I woke to a bit of mist but decided that the supermarket shopping must take priority.  It was only as I came out of the store that I realised that the mist had turned to fog but that it was relatively low as a layer (you could see blue sky above).  I've always wanted to experience an inversion in a mountain area where the mist rises in the valleys and the mountain tops peak out above.  I got pretty close in Wales a couple of years ago, but it is still on the bucket list.  It isn't going to happen in the flat lands of the West Midlands but as I saw brighter light to the east, and the indication of blue sky above, I decided to put the drone up to see what I could capture.

In the end I decided to complicate things further by taking a number of shots to produce a panorama.  The auto exposure is not quite as accurate as a conventional camera so stitching proved a bit problematic, despite the wonders of modern software.  Still here you are, with the drone at about 100 metres above the playing fields I was standing in, looking east southeast.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.