The triumph of hope ...

Blippers who live in Scotland or who have any interest in/knowledge of Scottish football will understand the unhealthy dominance of two big and well resourced clubs over nearly all the others. For that reason this family has always supported the local team through good times and bad (the scarf is decades old). Times are really pretty bad these days so the weekly home and away games, season tickets and travelling support have been replaced by the mens' attendance at the New Year, or in this case Hogmanay, game. Today it's a home match against Cowdenbeath. I've not heard any cheering from Forthbank so far and the game's well into the second half.

2016 has been a year of mixed fortunes both internationally and much closer to home. We've lost friends and family members and have friends who've become unwell. The world feels an unstable place.

Lots changed for me in 2016 - the main change being in March when I stopped permanent work. It's taken a while to adjust but I've been lucky to find some other work to help me manage the transition. The garden project was marvellous and makes looking forward to spring 2017 more exciting than usual. We had some excellent holidays:
Roadtrip
Shetland
Soller
Nertherlands and are lucky enough to be planning for next year already.

The most exciting thing has been watching the baby grow and develop and sharing her care. What a privilege.

I don't make NY resolutions any more. I tend to find New Year overly introspective and sometimes maudlin though we have a kind invitation to a friend's house and I expect we'll stay up to welcome 2017 in. Whatever you're doing tonight I wish you all a very happy New Year and a safe and healthy 2017.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.