Big News!

After breakfast duties, I was off up to the daughter’s gaff to feed their cat; and give it a bit of a play, or something. That involved finding their wifi password and switching on Rangers v Celtic, as well as throwing a stuffed mouse in its general direction. Maybe it’ll be more chatty tomorrow. Anyway, while I was there, the daughter contacted me from up North to announce that she’d got engaged! Most delightful - and I’m very happy for her. I better get writing that speech. And saving up.
After that back for a bit of gardening - getting that tattie bed into shape, which left me quite knacked as I’ve a nasty wee cold. So, goodbye to 2016 with all its highs and lows, including goodbye to my dear old mum. Let’s hope that 2017 is a good one.
And what about MrP’s best films of the year, I hear you ask. It’s always a bit difficult to do - mainly due to bad memory and that films which wowed me last January have faded away compared to more recent viewings. Still, lets have a crack - in reverse order… with some pretentious commentary, as you’d expect!

10 Julieta - Great acting, a sad, wistful tale, and a visual treat.
9 Nocturnal Animals -  a clever little plot, but intense too - in fact, a scary ride.
8 Paterson - I expected not a lot but just loved it; a great gentle humour through it all.
7 Rams - a real wee gem from Iceland.
6 Where You're Meant To Be - set around Aidan Moffat's tour of the Highlands. Hilarious in places but also really touching.
5 Son of Saul - stunning - some literally hellish scenes.
4 Victoria - was that really just one continuous single camera shot? It wor! I staggered out afterwards. 
3 Tale of Tales - knocked that Fantastic Beasts and Eddie grin grin Redmayne into the proverbial hat.
2 Spotlight - a well written and acted taut ensemble piece. Yes. Taut!
1 Hell or High Water - dust, cars, highways, Texas, Banks, guns, Jeff Bridges and a cracking soundtrack. Superb.

Happy New Year when it comes, folks!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.