Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Here's to 2017...

There is very little about 2017 that feels certain to me at this moment ... except that I'll see lots of birds and wildlife and photograph as much/many as I can.  So, what better way to start the year than with a little group of the ever-abundant House Finches?  Four colorful males surrounding one drab, but popular, female.

You may recall that last year I challenged myself to photograph as many yard birds as I could.  I was able to actually see/hear 82 separate species from my yard; and to photograph 60.  I'm hoping to beat those numbers this year.  Today, I narrowly missed getting a shot of Hairy Woodpecker - but he was too skittish and fast for me...today.  I'll get him.  

We had a great evening last night with Ellen - lots of laughs as well as a few somber moments, but mostly laughs and the comfort that comes with being with those you love.  We even managed to stay awake long enough to watch the ball drop in Times Square!  This morning Hubs made his famous blueberry walnut pancakes with orange zest and a new ingredient ... ricotta!  They were absolutely delicious and worth the extra calories.  (We did get out for a short walk, hoping to burn off at least some of last night's and this mornings' excesses.

Hubs and I are now going to curl up on the sofa and watch a movie on TV while the fire blazes.  The gazillion things that need to get done can all wait until tomorrow.

Happy New Year, people.

Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.