Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Gotcha!

That's what I was muttering to myself as I crept across the kitchen floor, below the level of the window, camera clasped tightly, trying not to make any sudden moves.  Arriving at the window, I slowly raised myself and the lens and snapped a burst of 5 shots before the very alert Hairy Woodpecker took off up into the hickory tree.  So, this is through the double-pane window (which needs a good cleaning) - not an A-level shot, but good enough for today.

Hairy Woodpeckers are very similar in appearance to the much smaller Downy Woodpecker.  Aside from the size difference, the best way to distinguish the two species is by the much longer beak of the Hairy, which you can see quite clearly here.  They are birds of the forest, found throughout most of the US, Canada and Alaska and even into Mexico.  Although they are not considered a "species of concern" from a conservation standpoint, they are not seen all that regularly by most people.  This male has been an occasional visitor to my feeders for the last month and is probably also the same bird that was visiting the suet in the summer to feed nestlings.  Since he's not a "regular" yard bird, I figured I'd best blip him now.  

Lots of rain today and more predicted for tomorrow.  Can't complain as we really need it, but it does make getting outside a bit less appealing.  So, I will spend the rest of today working on some paperwork for my mother-in-law and maybe doing a Photoshop tutorial.  

Thanks for stopping by.

xo,
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.