But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

Serendipity.

It’s been a curious few days; I’ve been reading and trying to understand papers on evolution and critiquing some of Jnr’s essays on said subject. He’s been working on game theory and has discovered that professors are lazy bastards so the same (or similar) exam questions come up every year. One example is along the lines of, “Tear a piece of research to shreds.” It is generally non-specific so you can choose your favourite research topic, analyse it and point out its strengths and weaknesses. 
We’ve been looking at the ongoing oscillation in the evolution of Galapagos finches caused by fluctuating weather conditions over a thirty year period. I am, actually, finding it all very interesting so don’t begrudge helping the lad.
 
Due to this, I was late on Friday getting round to my Blip. It took a wee while to set it up and I finally posted it with the Flower Friday tag. It wasn’t until I looked at it in the morning that I realised that the pressing of the shutter button had taken place after midnight which was picked up by Blipfoto, by which time it was a bit late to take it down and repost while telling white lies about its date.
 
I had thought of going into town today and Blipping the annual triathlon, but the spirit was weak, maybe next year; it would have been flippin' cold standing half-way up Arthur’s Seat in the wind anyway. As it was, my fingers nearly fell off when I popped out to my small piece of private woodland, tomorrow I’ll remember to take some gloves and a spare battery. I had taken my ancient Benbo tripod apart to clean and re-grease its joints in the morning, including the ball-and-socket head; it’s remarkable how much easier it is to use now. Rather than use a cable release with the tripod, I’d set the shutter to a 2 second delay; however, the Blip was hand-held – I’d pressed the shutter and, when nothing happened, swung the camera round to see why. The picture only needed a little increase in contrast and saturation to be the best of the day; it says a lot for my improved skills over the last four years.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.