dreaming

By dreaming

Happy New Year and Happy Hanukkah

The family got together at my sister Endless Weekend's house to celebrate the new year and to light the last Hanukkah candle for the year.  In the blip photo, you see Doug, EW, nieces Amanda and Sarah, Amanda's fiance Andrew, and friend Bruce, still visiting from Atlanta.  Each of us took a turn lighting a candle and saying the blessings.  Then we toasted with prosecco and sat down to a lively dinner.  I was struck again by how very much I like my family and really enjoy being with them.  It was a lovely evening that will keep me feeling warm and cozy for a while.

I always feel uncomfortable at new year's time because the idea of resolutions hangs in the air.  I've given up making any specific resolutions because they're impossible for me to keep.  But every year I make a resolution to try to take better care of myself - maybe this year I will actually have some success.  I hope all of you are starting off with optimism and a belief that we can all do better this year.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.