First Day of 2017

I hope this sunrise is an omen of things to come in 2017. It was a lovely sight when I looked out of our bedroom window just after I got up. Of course I had to go out on the deck in my nightgown to catch the sight.

The extras are Lynda and Steve as we three took a good long walk in Whatcom Falls Park, and the male Anna's taking a drink at the feeder while I was out feeding the birds. Just happened to have my camera with me.

We had a good and peaceful day today. Chris and Jyl had breakfast at Steve's and then came over for a game of Mexican Train before they headed back to Seattle. Helena stayed with Arvin while Steve, Lynda and I took our walk. Then we all went to Il Rinconcito for a late Mexican lunch, Steve's treat. When we got home we played more games and then watched some great TV. 

Lynda recommended a documentary called "Happiness" which I had actually seen before but was delighted to see again. It reiterated what I already knew, that happiness does not come from wealth and fame but from growth, love and compassion, and involvement in something larger than yourself, making a difference. I feel a deep sadness that we have chosen a man to lead this nation who clearly values money more than these deeper values. Just this morning I read in the paper that he is building a giant resort in Bali that will look down on a Hindu temple. So unclear on the concept. And I would wager that he is not a man of happiness but one full of fear and feeling a lack of self worth.

But I digress... The second TV show we saw was on Netflix called "Tales of Light" featuring Art Wolf taking photos of amazing indigenous people that are breath-taking. 

Love, beauty, art, involvement, compassion, care, respect, kindness, family and friends - these are the things that bring happiness - and enough money to have a roof over your head, food in your belly, and the resources to learn and grow. More than that doesn't make you happier.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.