In Which We B.L.T. in the New Year!

It was such a simple thing, but so glorious. And I can't tell you when I've had one last, because my husband decided last year that he would give up either butter or bacon, and bacon was the thing that went. Mostly, anyway. Bacon used to be an every-week thing; now it's a once-in-a-while treat.

And since he's the chief cook, that means that I was implicated as well. So it was that the first B.L.T. (bacon, lettuce, and tomato sandwich) of the new year was met with great joy indeed.

My husband had swiped a fresh tomato from my mom and dad's house on Christmas day (with permission, or so he says), and I bought a lettuce at the store last week. The other items - bread, cheese, mayo - are things we pretty much always have in the fridge.

We are passionate about cheese at our house, and so we add cheese to the B.L.T., even though that's not how it's done, textbook-style. The cheese is Sargento's ultra-thin, extra-sharp cheddar. It's delightful, melts beautifully, and tastes delicious. In the bag, the slices are so thin they're separated by pieces of paper; yes, THAT thin!

The goodies on the plate were actually supplies enough for THREE B.L.T.'s, and so that's what we made, and we split them evenly. I moaned with pleasure as I ate mine, I wanted it so badly, and it was SO good!

My husband made some remarks about how happy I looked, and how he should have taken pictures of my FACE instead of the sandwich goods. But some of those remarks were of an adult nature, and so I'll spare you the actual text of them.  ;-) Rest assured of this: I was quite happy indeed!

This hearty brunch was followed by a several-mile New Year's Day hike in our local gameland, and I am embarrassed to admit that when we came back, I wanted another B.L.T. But there wasn't more; there was only this. It would have to be enough, at least until next time.

Now, it being New Year's Day and all, I have to admit that I did not make any official resolutions to ring in the new year. I used to do that, and it made me miserable, for I was always failing. And who wants to start a year out like that? Instead, I try to be good to myself, and to the world too.

Live in love. Walk in peace. Speak life and truth, but do it gently. Increase the good. Nurture. Spend time outdoors. Be the first to offer grace; accept it when it is offered to you. Cultivate a grateful heart. See through clearer eyes. Pay attention to the small things. Chase beauty. Be silly, especially when silliness may not be called for. Dance whenever you can. Laugh out loud.

But these are not resolutions, only general principles and goals, and I am learning as I go. Your own experiences and learnings may vary, and your truth may not be identical to mine. In any case, however you spent your First Day, I hope you made it a good one. I can assure you of this: mine was quite tasty indeed!

The soundtrack: Tina Turner, Better Be Good to Me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.