Starring the Full Wolf Moon in: Moonrise

It was bitterly, bitterly cold. But the supermoon was expected and I had to go and see. We have a great view of the moonrise from our big living room windows. My husband was the first to spot it on this day: shortly after dusk, there it was, golden on the horizon.

My alert was his fast intake of breath, and then the whisper, as though he had spotted something wild and untamed and sacred and beautiful (which it IS, of course, every single time): "There it is!"

It wasn't good enough just to see it from inside, though. Oh no. I had to go out, out, out! So I bundled up in my big coat and put my winter boots on and went trudging into the yard in the snow.

My favorite part of moonrise is this, I think: the moment when you first spot it. When the moon hasn't cleared the trees yet. When it is just making its grand entrance. First the night is dark. There's a tingling at the horizon. And then the sky is suddenly full of unexpected gold, that amazing, sacred moment: and now, we rise!

The soundtrack: Eddie Vedder, with Rise.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.