Life In Wales

By KarenC

An Angel in Disguise

After yesterday's rain, we woke up to sunshine and blue skies today.  So after a walk with the boys and the removal of the rest of the Christmas decorations and the tree, we took mum to Alfriston.

We had a walk round the village and some of the shops were open so we had a mooch.  I got a bargain that I know a few other heart lovers will be envious of - a big ceramic heart.  It had a price sticker on of 50p which I thought had been put on in error, so I asked the guy if it was really 50p and he said that he didn't think so, but as it had that price on, I could have it for that!  Everything in his shop was reduced by 30%, so I laughed and said I didn't expect him to reduce it any further lol!  We then had a lovely lunch at The George Inn which dates back to the 14th century - it was first licensed in 1387. We all had venison casserole with dumplings, mashed potato and green beans which was delicious!

Whilst wandering near the church I heard a bird singing, so looked up in the tree and saw this lovely little robin.  There was another one somewhere nearby as they were singing to each other.  Once one stopped the other one would start, it's such a lovely sound.

I often see Robins, and I was once told that they're a symbol that a loved one who has passed away is nearby.  Whether it's true of not, I like to believe it is, so maybe this little bird was Aunty Nan coming to say hello :-)

Anyway,  it's back to work tomorrow and the start of my diet!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.