We're Out Of Here!

Late afternoon, I drove down to Poole Harbour then made my way to the chain ferry and crossed over to Shell Bay as a foot passenger. The weather was gorgeous (but freezing cold) - sun and blue sky and no cloud to be seen! Such a beautiful day for a walk! I then made my way along the harbour side of the spit, rather than Shell Bay itself, as I'd not been on that side before. There were very few people about, so the birds were largely undisturbed. These sanderlings were huddled together on a small patch of shingle that was gradually getting smaller as the tide came in. I was surprised how close they let me get without taking off! When they eventually did so, it was because of the incoming tide, not me!

Anyway, I have loads of photos of shimmering water, trees against the setting sun, dragon's teeth, unusual house boats....... but most of those things are repeatable. Much as I love birds and enjoy trying to photograph them, I don't consider myself a birding photographer and I've no idea when I may be able to get any other half decent images of these cute little beings, so they have to be my blip. My main dilemma was which one. In the end, I've gone for the untidy take off with water droplets spraying everywhere but I've included a much tidier in flight extra, along with a rather cute one of the sanderlings all huddled down and just one keeping an eye on me over his shoulder.

Really much better seen large on the black background, so that you can see the water droplets flying through the air!

I hope you've all had a good day, too! Huge thanks for everything for yesterday's blip - I am most grateful!


Ann :))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.